Fort York – “Doors Open”, Toronto

Fort York – “Doors Open”, Toronto (2006)

The original garrison of Fort York was built by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe in 1793. During the War of 1812, the fort was abandoned in the face of American advances but re-established by the British in the Fall of 1813. Fort York became an historical museum in the 1930’s and on site are a number of War of 1812 buildings outfitted in period furniture.

During the summer months members of the Fort York Guard provide demonstrations and information for tourists.

The officers certainly had nicer sleeping accommodation than the regular soldier.

UPDATE: Mark the calendar – “Doors Open” 2011 dates are: Starts: May 28, 2011 Ends: May 29, 2011

About Ron

Ron has long had an interest in photography and traveling and, in recent years, has had more time to devote to both activities. Long a Pentax user, Ron switched to Nikon gear when he went digital. The advent of the digital SLR camera, and the ease of the internet blogging process, has provided a venue for sharing his photography and travel experience at the local, national and international level. More about Ron
This entry was posted in Canada Explorer, Ontario, Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fort York – “Doors Open”, Toronto

  1. Pingback: War of 1812 Bicentennial | MegaPixel Travel

  2. Pingback: Bicentennial of the War of 1812 – $28 Million Dollars!!! | MegaPixel Travel

  3. Pingback: Bicentennial of the War of 1812 | MegaPixel Travel

Leave a Reply