Fort York – “Doors Open”, Toronto (2006)
The original garrison of Fort York was built by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe in 1793. During the War of 1812, the fort was abandoned in the face of American advances but re-established by the British in the Fall of 1813. Fort York became an historical museum in the 1930’s and on site are a number of War of 1812 buildings outfitted in period furniture.
During the summer months members of the Fort York Guard provide demonstrations and information for tourists.
The officers certainly had nicer sleeping accommodation than the regular soldier.
UPDATE: Mark the calendar – “Doors Open” 2011 dates are: Starts: May 28, 2011 Ends: May 29, 2011